Week Four: Your Digital Footprint

digital-footprint

Source: Digital Footprint

TASK ONE:

To put it simply, my digital footprint is enormous. I use so many social media platforms, I rely on the Internet to solve most of my problems (how to take care of injuries, mostly), and I don’t try to hide who I am, either. With that being said, I’m very cautious about what I do say online: I don’t reveal personal information (my actual last name isn’t mentioned on any of my social media accounts, anywhere)  whatsoever because I do recognize the danger in doing so. As I haven’t had many problems with the way I use digital media thus far, I don’t think I’ll change the way I use it, but I will remain wary of what I do say online, because what you say online lives there forever. I honestly think it depends on what kind of person you are; if you’re a private person, you’re probably not comfortable with putting your entire life’s story on the internet. However, if you’re an outgoing person who doesn’t mind the internet knowing who they are, then I think it’s fine, as long as you don’t go overboard and start telling people where you live and who you’re related to.

TASK TWO:

It was definitely interesting (and eye-opening) to see how many people’s cats could be identified around the world, simply because their owners had uploaded a picture of their cat online. I definitely agree with the main message of the ‘Do Not Track’ documentary because it is just as important to protect your digital self as well as who you are in the real world, because there’s a fine line between the virtual and the actual, and no matter which world you choose to divulge more details about yourself in, you have to be careful no matter what.

Leave a comment